Things that don’t go together

One of the things that happens when we hotel vacation is anything needing substantial power gets dragged in and powered up while we stay. This includes the 10 pound bike batteries (x4). I had brought the tub in, got them all charged and had them on the desk in our hotel room. While looking for something in the tub next to them, one slid off the desk and landed across my bare feet. It was one of those moments where all I could do was sit down, clutch my mangled toes and listen to my husband ask, “Are you alright?”. OUCH. Eventually I was able to test them out and found that in fact I hadn’t broken all 10 toes and several foot bones, but likely just put a good bruise on one or two. I’ve been trying to curb my F word usage (NY resolution- sort of), but this was clearly a case where it was needed. So item 1 and 2 that don’t go together? My toes and those wicked battery packs.

While “small house” living we have routines. Prior to “blasting off”, Bob has a set group of things he worries about on the outside of the camper. Awning and jacks retracted and stowed, bikes etc. On the inside of the camper I make sure the TV is locked, toilet seat down, vents closed and anything that is just laying around on the cupboards and table needs to get put away. Either in a cupboard or on the floor. Since I rarely use the microwave/convection oven contraption that is mounted so high above my head that its an accident waiting to happen when I do – this has become a simple storage cabinet. On this trip its storing the bathroom stuff – vitamins, toothbrushes, eye wash solution. I’d use the medicine cabinet in the bathroom, but it sucks and most of the time despite added velcro it flies open enroute and I find the contents splashed across the floor when we stop. Which leads me to the other 2 things that don’t go together…. an electric Sonicare toothbrush, and the microwave.

Last night I was making supper (one of the first ones I’ve made – total boondocks here!). I was going to warm up some water for instant potatoes so I pulled the vitamins and contact solution out. Again, the stupid thing is mounted so high I can’t see into it without a stool, so assuming I had everything out – I put the pan with water in and fired up the microwave. I could hear a strange buzzing sound, hmmm?? must be the plate isn’t …. oh shit! my toothbrush. Poor little feller – radiated! 10 seconds of microwaving and all it could do is flash. No more vibration, unable to shut off the flashing light. Bob just got a new one about a month ago (mine is 5 years old), and so I mention that I wanted a new one anyway. He claims I “Killed it” on purpose, but thats not true. Guess what? This morning I tried it and it worked! ha ha … Second on the list of things that don’t go together – your sonicare toothbrush and microwaves!

We got going late yesterday from the hotel. Enjoying one last shower, dragging all our stuff back out, hotel breakfast etc. Our first stop was Saguaro NP East. The park is split and sits about an hour apart – east and west on both sides of Tucson. It’s all about the cactus.

We take the 8 mile loop drive which is curvy and hilly and I feel a bit nervous as Bob swerves through it. He runs over a big rock and I am like “What the hell?”. He claims he can’t see the road/obstacles and I offer a short lecture in slowing down. Thus, a quiet 8 mile loop drive. It’s pretty, I’d give it a 7 on the 1-10 scale for NP, but only because the west side is a lot cooler. On the way out I go to the visitor center to collect the magnet – 3 volunteers/rangers on duty outside at a table, but NO, NO, NO …. no gift shop items. This is stupid and I try not to be a beotch to the little lady who breaks the no magnet news to me. I whine a little, but I can see it’s not going to get me anywhere. Back to the truck I explain to Bob that we need to put the hammer down and get to Saguaro NP WEST before 3pm. I know – “go slow! go fast!” … I’m surprised he doesn’t leave me at the roadside some days.

Along the route we pass this crazy “Largest airplane boneyard” in the world place. Miles of airplanes, decommisioned and lined up for storage in the dry, warm desert. It’s the craziest thing to drive past.

https://www.airplaneboneyards.com/davis-monthan-afb-amarg-airplane-boneyard.htm

My google maps takes us on an “adventure route” to the west park, not the easiest way I’m sure in hindsight. When we arrive the lot is full and we are lucky to get a parking spot. Thinking prior that it would be quiet on a Monday – and forgetting it was a holiday MLK day – (free admin). I head to the gift shop and am met at the door with a ticket machine and a young lady who tells me there is a wait. I’m ticket number 93; and she is just calling 72. I commence my whining, “all I need is a magnet – any magnet”… , I turn on the charm, “Gosh I can’t believe how busy you are here … we went to east side – all the way from Wisco, but they don’t have any magnets for sale … I’m happy we came here it’s a lot prettier than east .. blah blah … what a nice shirt you have on (no I didn’t really say this, but I was ready to) .. She says, “I have a box with some different magnets, I could get that and you could pick one. AMEN AMEN !!! Karma? Whining? I don’t care. Yes, THANKS!! “My husband is SO impatient, I really appreciate it!” I tell Bob later I used him as my excuse and he laughs and says, “geez thanks”. She brings a little box and I quickly snatch one out of the selection and hand it to her with a $20. I ask, “any chance you could grab me 10 postcards too? I don’t care what they are..” She replies, “No, I really can’t I’m supposed to be out here” .. OK – not pushing it. But then Karma strikes again and she pops out with a pack of 12 and says, “would this be OK?”. Tada !!! My whole shopping experience takes place outside the gift shop, but I don’t care. Postcard recipients – now you have the rest of this story πŸ™‚

30 miles later we land at Picacho Peak State Park. I know nothing about it and have selected it only for location. It’s in between Tucson/Phoenix. Just off the freeway, it turns out to be a really pleasant surprise. Not too crowded, almost as many Saguaro as the NP had, hiking/biking, power (enough to fry the toothbrush), showers – all good.

The best part? The sunset. It was incredible! The best we have seen on the whole trip. Photo credits to Bob who really has an eye when it comes to this.

Prior to sunset we took a bike ride outside of the park to “Ostrich land” (or whatever it was called) Total tourist trap filled with screaming kids. I took a lap thru the gift shop, contemplated a ostrich feather duster for $15 (I put it back), grabbed some postcards and we got the heck out. Bob says later, “I just knew you were going to have to go there when I saw it from the highway”. The only other buildings at this exit are a gas station/Dairy Queen, and a dirty book store … it was the obvious choice!

This reminded me of my buddies Nicole and Emily!
Picacho Peak (as seen from Ostrich land)

Dinner was Lake Erie Walleye and carrots that have been with us since the start. We like the park so much we are staying a second night, but need to move to the site across the street. I’m going to try out hiking boots today and see how that feels on my crushed toes (ha ha). It seems like that Dairy Queen would be the obvious choice for supper, but who knows I might actually cook a second night.

There is rain in the forecast – the first they’ve had since the beginning of DECEMBER. It sprinkled a little last night, but not much. Clouds will make hiking better today, and looking at the morning sky – I’m doubting much rain.

Two things that DO go together?? Well …we haven’t killed each other yet πŸ™‚ Peace Out!

Leave a comment